INOVYN AWARD 2016: 3D Vinyl™, the world’s first printable PVC filament, was awarded “Gold” in the prime category “Innovations”.

Chemson, global market leader and innovative manufacturer of polymer additives, was presented with one of the much-coveted INOVYN Awards 2016 for the world’s first PVC filament suitable for 3D printing. For its 3D Vinyl™, Chemson was awarded “Gold” in the “Innovations” category. The awards ceremony took place as part of the “K2016”, the world’s leading trade fair for plastics and rubber that was held in Düsseldorf from 19 – 26 October 2016.

Chemson received the “INOVYN Award Gold” in the “Innovations” category from an impartial international jury for its 3D Vinyl, the world’s first PVC formulation that is suitable for 3D printing and fully recyclable to boot. Chemson has thus won the most prestigious award in the main category “INOVYN Award for Innovation with Vinyls”, where more than 70 entries competed for one of the much-coveted awards. The INOVYN Award is considered one of the most important awards in the PVC. Alexander Hofer, Chemson CEO, had this to say on the success of his group: “We feel honoured to have been presented with the “INOVYN Award” for our sustainable PVC formulation for 3D printing. We believe that applications such as prototyping will in future be primarily handled using 3D printing, and we wanted to be part of this development from the very first!”

3D Vinyl filament

3D Vinyl really comes into its own in the printing of support structures and thus in the manufacturing of prototypes and final parts. All the benefits of PVC, such as a long lifespan, robustness and a high recycling capability, are fully preserved in the innovative 3D Vinyl formulation. This makes the printed products more cost-efficient than for instance metal formwork, as well as giving them a longer lifespan and improved UV resistance and weather resistance. Thanks to their excellent recycling properties, they also have a sound ecological footprint. Chemson has spent over two years developing this PVC filament for 3D printing applications: “We are proud that our research department has succeeded in developing a formulation for a PVC filament for 3D printing. 3D Vinyl combines all the advantages of this material”, emphasises Hofer.

About the INOVYN Awards

The INOVYN Awards 2016 (“The Awards”) are intended to promote the image of vinyls as innovative, versatile and safe materials that are used in products that make essential and positive contributions to society. The innovations entered for the awards are assessed by an independent jury. The Awards present an opportunity for participants to promote their vinyl-related innovations.

Chemson – leading manufacturer of PVC stabilisers

The Chemson group, headquartered in Arnoldstein/Austria, is among the globally leading manufacturers of PVC stabilisers in the plastics industry. The Chemson products include additives and auxiliaries that are used in a wide range of end products. By varying the formulations, Chemson additives may be used for a wide range of different products, from easy-care window profiles to highly resistant PVC pipes, ultra-thin packaging foil and innovative flooring. With the development of the 3D Vinyl formulation, Chemson now also intends to open up new areas of application within the field of 3D printing.

 

PR_Inovyn_Award_Chemson_EN.docx

PR_Inovyn_Award_Chemson_EN.pdf

 

Alexander Hofer, CSO Chemson, accepts the Golden Inovyn Award in the "Innovations" category together with his colleagues. © Inovyn Awards 2016

Alexander Hofer, CSO Chemson, accepts the Golden Inovyn Award in the “Innovations” category together with his colleagues.
© Inovyn Awards 2016

 

 

The radiant winners of the INOVYN Awards 2016, presented for the project "3D Vinyl for Advanced Industrial 3D Printing" by Chemson. Left to right: Mr Hofer, Mr Klamann, Mr Planner (all Chemson), Mr Watkinson (jury member), Mr Harrison (Chemson), Mr Constant (INOVYN) © Inovyn Awards 2016

The radiant winners of the INOVYN Awards 2016, presented for the project “3D Vinyl for Advanced Industrial 3D Printing” by Chemson. Left to right: Mr Hofer, Mr Klamann, Mr Planner (all Chemson), Mr Watkinson (jury member), Mr Harrison (Chemson), Mr Constant (INOVYN) © Inovyn Awards 2016

INOVYN Award 2016: 3D Vinyl, das weltweit erste druckbare PVC-Filament wurde mit „Gold“ in der wichtigsten Kategorie „Innovationen“ ausgezeichnet.

Chemson, Weltmarktführer und innovativer Hersteller von Polymer Additiven erhält für seine Weltneuheit, dem ersten PVC-Filament für den 3D-Druck, einen der begehrten INOVYN Awards 2016. Mit 3D Vinyl gewinnt Chemson „Gold“ in der Kategorie „Innovationen“. Die Verleihung des Awards fand im Rahmen der „K2016“, der international führenden Messe der Kunststoff- und Kautschukindustrie, in Düsseldorf vom 19. – 26. Oktober 2016 statt.

3D Vinyl, die weltweit erste PVC-Formulierung für den 3D-Druck, welche natürlich auch recycelbar ist, wurde von einer unabhängigen internationalen Jury mit dem „INOVYN Award Gold“ in der Kategorie „Innovationen“ ausgezeichnet. Chemson gewann damit die höchste Auszeichnung in der Hauptkategorie „INOVYN Award for Innovation with Vinyls“ in der mehr als 70 Einreichungen um den begehrten Award konkurrierten. Der INOVYN Award gilt als eine der wichtigsten Auszeichnungen in der PVC Branche. “Es ist für uns eine große Ehre, den INOVYN Award für unsere nachhaltige PVC-Formulierung für den 3D-Druck gewonnen zu haben. Wir sind überzeugt, dass zum Beispiel das Prototyping in Zukunft überwiegend mittels 3D-Druck erfolgen wird, da wollten wir von Anfang an mit dabei sein”, kommentiert Alexander Hofer, Vorstand der Chemson Gruppe, die begehrte Auszeichnung.

 

3D Vinyl™ Filament

3D Vinyl zeigt seine Vorteile unter anderem auch beim Druck von Stützstrukturen und eignet sich damit besonders gut für die Herstellung von Prototypen und Endbauteilen. Die Vorzüge von PVC wie zum Beispiel lange Lebensdauer, Robustheit und hohe Recyclingfähigkeit bleiben auch in der 3D Vinyl-Rezeptur vollständig erhalten. Das macht die Druck-Erzeugnisse gegenüber Formen aus Metall sehr interessant und zudem langlebig sowie UV- und wetterbeständig. Auch der ökologische Fußabdruck kann sich durch die Recycelbarkeit sehen lassen. Über zwei Jahre arbeitete Chemson an der Entwicklung eines PVC-Filaments. „Wir sind stolz, dass es unserer Forschungsabteilung gelungen ist, eine Formulierung für ein 3D-Filament aus PVC zu entwickeln. 3D Vinyl bringt alle Vorteile dieses Werkstoffes mit“, betont Hofer.

Über die INOVYN Awards

Die INOVYN Awards 2016 (“The Awards”) sollen das Image von Vinyl als innovatives, vielseitiges und sicheres Material fördern, das in Produkten verwendet wird, die wesentliche positive Beiträge zur Gesellschaft leisten. Die in die Awards eingegangenen Innovationen werden von einem unabhängigen Gutachtergremium beurteilt. Die Awards bieten den Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, ihre Vinyl-bezogenen Innovationen zu fördern.

Chemson – Führender Hersteller von PVC-Stabilisatoren

Die Chemson Gruppe gehört heute zu den weltweit führenden Herstellern von PVC-Stabilisatoren in der kunststoffverarbeitenden Industrie. Zu den Produkten von Chemson zählen Additive und Hilfsstoffe, die in einer Vielzahl von Endprodukten zum Einsatz kommen. Durch unterschiedliche Kombinationen der Zusatzstoffe von Chemson werden pflegeleichte Fensterprofile ebenso hergestellt, wie widerstandsfähige PVC-Rohre, Bordnetz-Systeme, hauchdünne Verpackungsfolien oder innovative Bodenbeläge. Durch die Entwicklung der 3D Vinyl-Formulierung will Chemson nun auch zur Erweiterung der Anwendungsbereiche des 3D-Drucks beitragen.

PT_Chemson_gewinnt_Inovyn_Award_2016.docx

PT_Chemson_gewinnt_Inovyn_Award_2016.pdf

 

Alexander Hofer, Vorstand von Chemson, übernimmt gemeinsam mit seinen Kollegen den Goldenen Inovyn-Award in der Kategorie "Innovation". (Bildcredit: Inovyn Awards 2016)

Alexander Hofer, Vorstand von Chemson, übernimmt gemeinsam mit seinen Kollegen den Goldenen Inovyn-Award in der Kategorie “Innovation”. (Bildcredit: Inovyn Awards 2016)

 

 

Gewinner_Inovyn_Award_Verleihung_2016

Strahlende Gewinner des INOVYN-Awards 2016 für das Projekt “3D-Vinyl for Advanced Industrial 3D Printing” von Chemson. V.l.n.r.: Alexander Hofer, Jörg-Dieter Klamann, Dennis Planner (alle Chemson), Keith Watkinson (Jurymitglied), Greg Harrison (ebenfalls Chemson), Filipe Constant (INOVYN) (Bildcredit: Inovyn Awards 2016)