World’s first 3D printable PVC filament
3D Vinyl developed by Chemson

Arnoldstein, September 2016. Chemson, world market leader and innovative manufacturer of polymer additives, has succeeded in developing the world’s first PVC filament (print material) for 3D printing. With this, all the advantages of the sustainable material of PVC can soon also be used in 3D manufacturing. The internationally active company with headquarters in Arnoldstein, Austria, has once again demonstrated its performance potential and its high degree of innovation.

From architectural models, to sports mouth guards, to the production of prototypes in the automotive industry – the applications of 3D production grow from year to year. The process of 3D printing is becoming a “game changer”, especially in the commercial world. The advantages: 3D models can be made and modified quickly and economically, whereby product and design errors are identified earlier on and development costs lowered.


All-around talent PVC – now also for 3D printing

Thanks to its diverse material properties, PVC is one of the most important plastics on the market. The material is characterized by various possibilities of use and stands out with a long life, sturdiness, a good price-performance ratio and a high level of recyclability. Nevertheless, thus far there has not been any opportunity to utilize the advantages of PVC for 3D printing. Chemson worked on the development of a PVC-filament for over two years. “We are convinced that in the future prototyping will take place mainly by means of 3D printing and we wanted to be part of this from the start. We are proud that our research department has succeeded in developing a formulation for a 3D filament made from PVC. 3D Vinyl provides all the advantages of this material” notes Alexander Hofer, CSO of the Chemson Group.


3D Vinyl – recyclable PVC formulation

The Chemson 3D Vinyl formulation was developed specifically for the manufacturing industry sector. 3D Vinyl shows its advantages, especially when printing support structures, and is therefore particularly suitable for the production of end components as well as prototypes. The advantages of PVC are fully preserved in the 3D Vinyl formula. This makes the printing products cheaper than, for example, using metal molds, with the advantage that the end product is also durable, UV-resistant, weatherproof and fireproof (Fire Class 1). The ecological footprint is also impressive with a high level of recyclability.


Chemson – Leading manufacturer of PVC stabilizers

The Chemson Group is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of PVC stabilizers in the plastics processing industry. Chemson products include additives and auxiliary materials that are used in a variety of end products. Through the various combinations of Chemson additives, a wide range of established end products can be produced such as, low-maintenance window profiles, robust PVC pipes, on-board electrical systems, ultra-thin packaging film or innovative flooring. With the development of the 3D Vinyl formulation, Chemson now wants to broaden the applications of 3D printing.

 

1609_PR_3D_Vinyl_Filament.docx

1609_PR_3D_Vinyl_Filament.pdf

 

 

cso_alexander_hofer

Board member Alexander Hofer presents the latest development of Chemson – the 3D Vinyl filament.
 
Photo: CSO Alexander Hofer. (Photo credit: Chemson/Kohlmeier)

 

alexander_hofer

3D models can be converted quickly and inexpensively. Print products from the 3D Vinyl filament are also durable, UV-resistant, weatherproof and fireproof.

 

chemson_hofer_mitteldorf

3D models can be converted quickly and inexpensively. Print products from the 3D Vinyl filament are also durable, UV-resistant, weatherproof and fireproof.
 
Photo: CEO Hans Jürgen Mitteldorf and CSO Alexander Hofer von Chemson (Photo credit: Chemson/Kohlmeier)

Weltweit erstes 3D-­druckbares PVC-­Filament
Chemson entwickelt 3D Vinyl

Arnoldstein, September 2016. Chemson, Weltmarktführer und innovativer Hersteller von Polymer Additiven gelingt die Entwicklung des weltweit ersten PVC-­Filaments (Druckmaterial) für den 3D­Druck. Dadurch können alle Vorteile des nachhaltigen Werkstoffes PVC bald auch bei der 3D-Fertigung genutzt werden. Das international tätige Unternehmen mit Headquarter in Arnoldstein in Österreich, beweist damit einmal mehr sein Leistungspotential und seinen hohen Innovationsgrad.

Von Architekturmodellen über Sportzahnschutz bis zur Herstellung von Prototypen in der Automobilindustrie – die Anwendungsbereiche von 3D-­Fertigungen wachsen von Jahr zu Jahr. Vor allem im Wirtschaftsleben wird der Prozess des 3D-­Drucks zunehmend zum „Gamechanger“. Die Vorteile: 3D-­Modelle lassen sich individuell, schnell und kostengünstig herstellen und modifizieren, wodurch Produkt-­ und Designfehler eher erkannt und die Entwicklungskosten gesenkt werden.


Allround-­Talent PVC – nun auch für 3D-­Druck

Dank seiner vielseitigen Materialeigenschaften gehört PVC zu den wichtigsten Kunststoffen am Markt. Der Werkstoff zeichnet sich durch mannigfache Verwendungsmöglichkeiten aus und punktet mit einer langen Lebensdauer, Robustheit, einem guten Preis-­Leistungsverhältnis und einer hohen Recyclingfähigkeit. Dennoch gab es bislang keine Möglichkeit, die Vorteile von PVC für den 3D-­Druck nutzbar zu machen. Über zwei Jahre arbeitete Chemson an der Entwicklung eines PVC-­Filaments. „Wir sind überzeugt, dass Prototyping in Zukunft überwiegend mittels 3D-­Druck erfolgen wird, da wollten wir von Anfang an mit dabei sein. Wir sind stolz, dass es unserer Forschungsabteilung gelungen ist, eine Formulierung für ein 3D-­Filament aus PVC zu entwickeln. 3D Vinyl bringt alle Vorteile dieses Werkstoffes mit“, betont Alexander Hofer, Vorstand der Chemson Gruppe.


3D Vinyl – weltweit erste recycelbare Kunststoff-­Formulierung

Die Chemson 3D Vinyl-­Formulierung wurde speziell für den produzierenden Industriesektor entwickelt. Das 3D Vinyl zeigt seine Vorteile vor allem beim Druck von Stützstrukturen und eignet sich damit besonders für die Herstellung von Prototypen und Endbauteilen. Die Vorzüge von PVC bleiben auch in der 3D Vinyl-Rezeptur vollständig erhalten. Das macht die Druck-Erzeugnisse kostengünstiger als zum Beispiel Formen aus Metall und zudem langlebig, UV-­beständig, wetter-­ und feuerfest (Brandverhalten Klasse 1). Auch der ökologische Fußabdruck kann sich durch die Recycelbarkeit sehen lassen.


Chemson – Führender Hersteller von PVC-­Stabilisatoren

Die Chemson Gruppe gehört heute zu den weltweit führenden Herstellern von PVC-­Stabilisatoren in der kunststoffverarbeitenden Industrie. Zu den Produkten von Chemson zählen Additive und Hilfsstoffe, die in einer Vielzahl von Endprodukten zum Einsatz kommen. Durch unterschiedliche Kombinationen der Zusatzstoffe von Chemson werden pflegeleichte Fensterprofile ebenso hergestellt, wie widerstandsfähige PVC-­Rohre, Bordnetz-­Systeme, hauchdünne Verpackungsfolien oder innovative Bodenbeläge. Durch die Entwicklung der 3D Vinyl-­Formulierung will Chemson nun auch zur Erweiterung der Anwendungsbereiche des 3D-­Drucks beitragen.

PT_3D_Vinyl_Filament.docx

PT_3D_Vinyl_Filament.pdf

 

Vorstand Alexander Hofer präsentiert die neueste Entwicklung von Chemson – das 3D Vinyl-Filament.
Bild: CSO Alexander Hofer (Fotocredit: Chemson/Kohlmeier)

 

Mit der Formulierung macht Chemson den Werkstoff PVC nun auch für den 3D-­Druck verfügbar.
Bild: CSO Alexander Hofer (Fotocredit: Chemson/Kohlmeier)

 

hofer_mitteldorf

3D-­Modelle lassen sich individuell, schnell und kostengünstig umsetzen. Druckerzeugnisse aus dem 3D Vinyl-­Filament sind zudem langlebig, UV-­beständig, wetter-­ und feuerfest.
Bild: CEO Hans Jürgen Mitteldorf und CSO Alexander Hofer von Chemson (Fotocredit: Chemson/Kohlmeier)